Dr. Arthur Lockhart

Dr. Arthur Lockhart

Founder of the Gatehouse, Author, Filmographer, Ba Daun Jin Instructor

Arthur Lockhart, M.Ed. is a professor in The School of Social and Community Services, author, filmographer, Ba Daun Jin Instructor. Over the past years Arthur has held the position of Chair of The School of Social and Community Services, Chair of The Board of Directors of The Gatehouse, Coordinator Advanced Justice Studies Certificate, Senior Development Manager-Ministry of Correctional Services.

Arthur founded-in 1998- the award winning charitable organization: The Gatehouse (www.thegatehouse.org), and Co-Founder of The Centre for Transformative Social Change (centrefortransformativesocialchange.org).

Arthur founded the Annual International Transforming Trauma Into Triumph Conference.

Arthur provides training and organizational transformation consultation on the local, national and international levels. At the core of his workshops are: the human spirit, humour, trauma transformation and transformative social change.

Film Production
2013 Illuminating Silence: Stories of people Transforming Trauma Into Triumph
2007 Into The Light: Documentary -Male Survivors of Child Sexual Abuse
2005 Laser Eagles: Film Celebrating capacities of people labeled disabled

Published Works
2007 Restorative Justice: Provincial School Resource Officer Training Manual. Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services
2007  The Human Touch: The Heartbeat of Extraordinary Education. Transformative Publishing
2005  Restorative Justice --Transforming Society. Inclusion Press
2004  Community Lost and Found: A conversation between two dreamers. Inclusion Press
2001 Restorative Justice. National Crime Prevention Centre of Canada.

Arthur is the recipient of a number of awards for his work in the fields of education and community social justices, including: Canada’s Top 50 Champions of Change, Order of Canada Nominee, Innovator of the Year Award, Student Teacher Appreciation Awards, Community Builder Lifetime Achievement Award, City of Toronto Mayor’s Community Safety Award Nominee, Lakeshore Community Building Award of Merit, Youth Impact Award, Inaugural Purple Door Award, Paul Harris Fellow, Inaugural Distinguished Community Service Award, Probation and Parole Association Award.